Everyone’s Got Stuff

by Zen Gray

It’s a beautiful sunny Friday… and the day after St. Patrick’s Day. I’ve noticed a few hung-over people at the gym today but not many.

David and I are four weeks into our diet/workout plan and I’ve lost an average of 2 pounds per week. (I started at 147.9 lbs and now I’m 140.5 lbs.) I’m quite pleased with those stats since I wasn’t sure how my body would respond to the gluttonous cheat hour… but apparently, you can’t do that much damage in an hour because still I’m losing weight and feeling pretty good. I have to add that I’ve started teaching more classes, though, and I’m definitely sweating a couple more times a week than just my evening workouts with David.

But… oh, man I’m sore. I wake up sore in my low back every day.  And I’m not sure if I can place all the blame on that chiropractor that first “adjusted” my back. A few years ago, I was given a free adjustment from a chiropractor (even though I had no back pain… I was told it was a good “preventive” thing to do). And within a couple weeks, I was walking tilted side-ways with so much pain that it took me 45 minutes to get from the adjustment table to the floor. That doctor told me that my new shoe inserts were causing the problem.

Now, before I get all the chiropractors upset… let me just say that I went to orthopedic surgeons and acupuncturists before another chiropractor that one of my client’s recommended showed me how to do a couple exercises that fixed the problem in a couple days. The second chiropractor, Dr. Gary Jacob, was fantastic and knew what he was doing and didn’t even have to touch me to help me. He looked at the x-ray the first place did and said, “Oh! You’re one of the few people that has kind of a 6th lumbar vertebrae… actually, it’s not a fully formed L5 that act like two separate vertebrae so it can slip around once you’ve loosened it up. You should have never been adjusted… and now you’ll have to tighten up your low back again. Don’t bend forward for two weeks and do these couple exercises…” He said it was some kind of Spondylolistheses, which is Greek for “slippery vertebra”.

Awesome, right?

That was four years ago when I first had the problem and I’ll ALWAYS have to do these exercises and be aware of my low back issues. So even though I’m a personal trainer, even though I’ve done triathlons and marathons, even though I’m active all the time… I’ve got stuff. We’ve all got stuff. And yes, I’ll have to deal with it all the time and it’s a pain in the butt (or the back) but I figure it’s just like brushing my teeth. I just add it to the list of things I’ve got to do every day and I don’t take it personally and I don’t let it hold me back. Sure some people have it better… but I’m thankful because a lot of people have it a lot worse.

***If you’ve been bitching about some of your stuff, I challenge you to change your perspective. Take a moment to consider how much worse it COULD be and try not to make your stuff some kind of “the-world’s-against-you”conspiracy to hold you back from better health, love or prosperity. THEN, take a moment to be thankful for all the great stuff in your life!***

If you practice this perspective shift on a regular basis, I promise you’ll enjoy a much happier and more fulfilling life.

Wishing you lots more great stuff,

~Zen

8 Comments to “Everyone’s Got Stuff”

  1. Liked the post. Free adjustments sound strange. I was very happy to see Dr. Gary Jacob stepped in and offered help and explanation. I agree that we all have stuff and the “everyones against me” phase is a dark place to be.

    • I agree, Eric, that free adjustments sound strange. There was a chiropractor’s office attached to a gym that I worked at and they offered the trainers free adjustments as a perk for working there… so it didn’t strike me as strange at the time. So thankful for Dr. Jacob recommendation! I refer people to him all the time and I know there are plenty of great chiros out there! I should have done my homework before trusting someone with my spine. Live and learn, right?

  2. I liked your post…the last bit really hit home. I have been in that “everyone is against me” phase for a few days…just feel like nothing is working in my favor. But, I do try to remember to take a moment and be thankful for what I have. Thank you for the reminder this morning!

    • Thank you for your comment, sonomasunshine 🙂 I think EVERYONE goes through those moments and taking a moment to be thankful is the best advice I ever received. Made a huge difference for me, too. Another thing that really helped me was to write “morning pages” every day. Just write for 3 pages each morning and watch how stuff gets cleared up. I typically write about what’s bugging me, what I can do about it, goals and bucket lists and then anything else that pops into my head. A journal really works wonders. Let me know if you decide to try it 🙂

      • I used to journal all the time as a teenager and did just those things…somehow, as an adult I figured I should give it up. But, have picked it back up again. I try to write every morning about how I am feeling and what my goals for that day are. Sometimes it is just getting down on the floor to do my sit ups and sometimes it is staying patient with my daughter (and myself). I like that idea of writing down what is bugging me and things I can do about it. Thanks for the great idea!

      • Keeping a journal helped me soooo much when I was in a “what-do-I-do with-my-life?” mode. You’ll love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

