Swearing Like a Sailor

by Zen Gray
I hate cell phone Painting by Arisa Niwa

"I hate cell phone" Painting by Arisa Niwa

Although belting out “F*CK!!!” feels inescapable sometimes, I make it a rule not to do it at Disneyland.

Since I’m definitely not at the Magic Kingdom today but dealing with a smart phone that refuses to download any of my email, I am letting many colorful phrases roll off my tongue. (Yes, I’m talking to you T-Mobile and MyTouch HTC!!!!) I know I’ll eventually get this resolved and I’m usually very composed — but it’s been four months now and I’ve reached my patience threshold.

Just as I was about to throw this infuriating device against the wall, David came home from work. I must have had a crazed look on my face because his eyes got really wide and he immediately grabbed the puppy and went for a walk. By the time he got back, my head was in my hands and I was making noises like I was in a bad martial arts flick.

I got up to take a shower and by the time I got out, David was on the phone with T-Mobile customer service. Listening to him deal with one of their reps made me laugh and even though we haven’t made any progress, I already feel much better. I love him for adding levity to a frustrating situation and for being able to keep it together while I’m losing it. And he’s totally amused by my uncharacteristic freak out.

It’s so nice to have someone help me with my balance when I can’t quite seem to do it on my own.

Time to go for a walk 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

